• Jul 02,2018


Boherbue 2-14

Dromtarriffe 1-10

Played at Millstreet GAA

BOHERBUE maintained their grip of the Ducon Cup (Duhallow JAFL) on brushing aside challengers Dromtariffe in a competitive tussle in Millstreet on Monday evening.

On doing so, Boherbue took custody of the silverware for an unprecedented fifth consecutive year. Seven points clear at the finish was a fair reflection of the industry and purpose Boherbue brought to a dominant second half.

Dromtariffe delivered a positive account of themselves, the hungrier side in the opening half but they paid a price for a sluggish finish in the lead up to the break, their prospects substantially diluted on a subsequent takeover by the holders.

From the outset, a close battle for supremacy unfolded, the sides content to trade points. After Boherbue nudged ahead from points to Jerry O’Connor and James Casey, Dromtariffe cast aside an uncertain spell.

A driven approach sprang from the prominence of Seamus O’Sullivan and Adam Buckley at midfield, backed up by the resolute play of defenders Conor Cremin and Tomás Howard. And after a brief water break to combat the heat, Dromtariffe’s hopes were brightened on O’Sullivan, the creator for Daniel O’Keeffe to net.

Bit-by-bit, Boherbue were improving, a terrific move from deep defence saw full-forward David O’Connor flash the ball narrowly wide of the right hand post. Tense exchanges surfaced, plenty of it evident in eight minutes added on, a mix up in the Dromtariffe defence allowed dangerman Jerry O’Connor goal for Boherbue.

And Dromtariffe’s problems worsened, key man O’Sullivan black-carded as a five point advantage was whittled down to the minimum 1-6 to 1-5 at the break. 

And Boherbue wasted precious little time on picking up where they had let off, O’Connor obliging from frees and play for the holders take up the running.

Now Boherbue held bright sparks throughout the field, Jack Daly, Daniel Buckley, Michael O’Gorman and substitute Tim Murphy tightened the defensive bolts as Billy O’Gorman and Kevin Cremin thrived at midfield.

In attack, O’Connor and Casey carried a threat to find the target and Boherbue’s hopes brightened considerably, the hard working Adrian Murphy, the instigator for namesake Tim to finish to the net.

At the opposite end, Dromtariffe’s play wasn’t nearly as slick enough, finding the channels blocked by a resolute Boherbue rearguard.

Dromtariffe relied on points to Collins and O’Keeffe to add to their tally, Boherbue never lost their sense of direction, late points from Adrian Murphy and Jerry O’Connor completed a rewarding outing to collect their 10th outright league title.

Boherbue captain Daniel Buckley received the Ducon Cup from Noelle Mannix, Ducon Concrete in the presence of Duhallow Junior Board Chairman Joe Kearns.

BOHERBUE: K Murphy; J Daly, N Murphy, D Buckley; M O’Connor 0-1, M O’Gorman, C J O’Sullivan; B O’Gorman, K Cremin; A O’Connor, J O’Connor 1-8(0-5f, 0-1’45), A Murphy 0-1; J O’Sullivan, D O’Connor 0-2, J Casey 0-2 Subs: T Murphy 1-0 for C J O’Sullivan, S Ahern for A O’Connor, D McCarthy for J O’Sullivan, D Moynihan for M O’Connor, B Herlihy for J Casey

DROMTARIFFE: D Mann; C O’Mahony, C Cremin, T Howard; Con O’Callaghan, B O’Keeffe, E Mernagh; A Buckley, S O’Sullivan; E Murphy 0-2(0-1f, 0-1’45), D O’Donoughue, J Buckley; S Collins 0-5 (0-4f), D O’Keeffe 1-3 (0-1f), Conor O’Callaghan Subs: C O’Donoughue for S O’Sullivan, D Desmond for J Buckley, V Browne for B O’Keeffe, J Murphy for Con O’Callaghan, G O’Keeffe for D O’Donoughue

REFEREE: D Hickey (Millstreet)