• Mar 31,2019

Duhallow hurlers bow out to Muskerry

Muskerry 5-17, Duhallow 1-15

DUHALLOW’S interest in the Co. SHC ended on a 1st Round defeat in the Divisional /Colleges section to a strong Muskerry combination on the Páirc Uí Chaoimh 4G pitch.

Even in defeat, Duhallow contributed to an entertaining contest yet a sharper Muskerry were better prepared and pulled away during the second half to set up a meeting against UCC. A goal from full forward Kevin Murphy gave Muskerry the perfect start only for Duhallow to respond on points to Jack Murphy, Séan Howard and Eamon Brosnan.

Muskerry answered with a goal to Ian Barry Murphy for a 2-7 to 0-9 advantage at the break. Impact sub Peter Kelleher added to the Muskerry options on the restart, setting up Kevin Hallissey to net.

Duhallow were thrown a lifeline, Brosnan netted from a penalty but hard as they attempted to create further inroads, Muskerry pulled away with late goals netted by Murphy and Kelleher.

Muskerry: P Hallissey (Blarney), R O Donovan (Ballincollig), J Mullins (Eire Óg), L Ryan (Inniscarra), C O Leary (Inniscarra), S O Donoghue (Inniscarra), A Murphy (Cloughduv), R Murphy (Blarney), M Bradley (Aghabullogue) 0-5, M O Riordan (Dripsey), S Bourke (Grenagh) 0-2f, D Hannon (Blarney), K Hallissey (Eire Óg) 1-5, K Murphy (Ballinora) 2-1, I Barry Murphy (Aghabullogue) 1-4. Subs: P Kelleher (Kilmichael) 1-0, S Tarrant (Aghabullogue), C Cotter (Kilmichael), Eoin Maher (Dripsey), M Walsh (Cloughduv).

Duhallow: K Roche (Banteer), C Buttimer (Kilbrin), B O Sullivan (Meelin), D O’ Mahony (Castlemagner), B Weathers (Banteer), C O Callaghan (Dromtarriffe), C Murphy (Castlemagner) 0-1, S Howard (Dromtarriffe) 0-3(0-1f), K Cremin (Dromtarriffe), J Murphy (Dromtarriffe), 0-2, K Tarrant (Banteer) 0-2, J O Callaghan (Meelin), S O Reilly (Kilbrin) 0-1, E Brosnan (Meelin) 1-4,(1-0p), T Howard (Dromtarriffe) 0-1. Subs: S Hehir (Meelin), D O Keeffe (Dromtarriffe), J Forrest(Meelin) 0-1.

Referee: M Maher (St Finbarrs).