• Aug 11,2019

Boherbue 3-7, Lyre 0-10

BOHERBUE’S rating as the premier side in Duhallow Football remains intact after grinding out a deserved victory over Lyre in the E Tarrant & Sons Skoda Dealer JAFC Final at Castlemagner. Superior movement going forward, goals at key stages proved sufficient for Boherbue record their 6th outright title and third in succession.

At the outset Boherbue imposed themselves, rewarded on a converted penalty by Jerry O’Connor and a second goal from John Corkery inside the opening quarter. For a spell Lyre dug their heels in, points to Denis Roche and David Murphy cut the leeway 2-2 to 0-3 at the break.

Though Lyre mounted a spirited rally on the restart, everything fell nicely into place for Boherbue once Gerry O’Sullivan netted a third goal.

BOHERBUE: K Murphy; J Daly, N Murphy, M Murphy; D Buckley, K Cremin, P Daly; M O’Connor, B O’Gorman; A O’Connor, J Corkery 1-1, C J O’Sullivan, J O’Connor 1-3(1-0p, 0-2f), G O’Sullivan 1-1, A Murphy 0-1. Subs. R Moynihan for M O’Connor(34), D McCarthy 0-1 for A Murphy(51), D Moynihan for P Daly(53), M O’Gorman for M Murphy(59), D Hickey for J O’Connor (60), C O’Riordan for C J O’Sullivan(60).

LYRE: S Murphy; J McAulliffe, K Sexton, N Twomey; B Weathers, D Kearney, B O’Keeffe; T Murphy, C O’Donoughue; P Ryan 0-1, K Tarrant 0-1, J Sexton; D Murphy 0-6f, C O’Keeffe 0-1, D Roche 0-1. Subs. M Kearney for P Ryan(39, E Buckley for N Twomey(39), A Coughlan for C O’Keeffe(51), H O’Connor for T Murphy(56).

Referee: D Casey(Scartaglen).