• Sep 08,2019

Newmarket 1-22, Kilbrin 2-11

NEWMARKET bridged a 40 year gap to claim their 15th divisional title after bettering an understrength Kilbrin in the E Tarrant & Sons Skoda Dealer Duhallow JAHC Final at Tullylease.

On doing so, Newmarket emerged good value for victory on producing a performance brimful of hunger and desire that erased the memory of a defeat to Dromtariffe in last season’s decider.

Man of the match Conor O’Keeffe blasted to the net early for the ideal start before a run of points from Donal Hannon helped Newmarket hold a 1-11 to 0-7 advantage at the break. Though Newmarket extended their hand on the scoreboard, Kilbrin threw caution to the wind, substitute Daniel O’Sullivan and Niall Field netting goals in quick succession that cut the deficit to five points.

However, Newmarket weathered the storm to add on late points for team captain Alan Ryan lift the John Joe Brosnan Memorial Cup.

NEWMARKET: D Kearney; P Allen, K O'Sullivan, A Browne; P Browne, M Cottrell, J Ryan; A Ryan, S Meehan; T O'Keeffe, C Browne 0-1, R O’Keeffe 0-2; B O’Connor 0-1, C O'Keeffe 1-4, D Hannon 0-13(0-8f, 0-1 sideline). Subs. J Guiney for S Meehan(49), J Flaherty 0-1 for T O’Keeffe(50), G Forde for P Browne(56 inj).

KILBRIN: E O’Riordan; C Buttimer, T O’Reilly, B Power; T Mullane, M Buckley, C Carroll; S Crowley 0-2f, W Corkery 0-1; N Field 1-0, B O’Mahony, S O’Reilly 0-8(0-6f), G King, T O’Brien, W Heffernan. Subs. D Daly for C Buttimer(27 inj), N O’Callaghan for T O’Brien(ht), D O’Sullivan 1-0 for B O’Mahony(38), M Field for G King(57), P Aherne for T Mullane(59).

Referee: D Hickey(Millstreet).