• Nov 03,2019

Blarney 1-17, Duhallow 0-17

A late scoring burst helped Blarney overcome Duhallow in Round 1 to the Co.  Premier 1 U21HC at Glantane.

For the best part of the hour, it was anybody’s game with the sides swopping the lead before Blarney talisman Padraig Power delivered the closing three points. Blarney enjoyed an early grip before a  wind assisted Duhallow came more into the picture, availing of the solid workrate of Cian Crowley, Ryan Walsh, Neil Flahive and Tomás Howard to the fore and a run of points helped alter the scoreboard in their favour. However Blarney answered and a Patrick Crowley goal earned a 1-9 to 0-11 advantage at the break.

On the restart, Blarney held the initiative, not before Duhallow mounted a buoyant challenge, points to Walsh and Howard helped square up the contest for the 10th occasion. With the possibility of extra time looming, Blarney held the whiphand on the run in, Power bisecting the uprights from both play and frees.

Some compensation for Duhallow, they can avail of a back door and a meeting against Fr. O’Neills while Blarney taking a direct route and a clash against Shandrum.

Scorers for  Blarney: P Power  0-13(0- 8f), P Crowley 1-0, S Barrett 0-2, C Hegarty, C Dunlea 0-1 each.

Duhallow: R Walsh 0-8(0-5f),T Howard 0-4, C Browne 0-2,  C Crowley 0-2, E Murphy 0-1.

BLARNEY: C Murphy; G Mullane, C Power, O Hegarty; D Quill, D Hannon, B Ahern;  A McEvoy, M J Shine; C Hegarty, P Crowley, S Barrett; M Cummins, P Power, W Crowley. Subs. C Dunlea for C Power(20 inj), S Mullane for C Hegarty(52).

DUHALLOW: B Kenneally(Kanturk); C Coughlan(Banteer), A Browne(Newmarket), D Buckley(Millstreet); B O’Sullivan(Kanturk), C O’Callaghan(Dromtariffe), P Browne(Newmarket);  R Walsh(Kanturk), N Flahive(Millstreet); C Crowley(Newmarket), C Browne(Newmarket), E Murphy(Dromtariffe); A Coughlan(Banteer), T Howard(Dromtariffe), N Linehan(Meelin). Subs.  R O’Keeffe(Newmarket) for A Coughlan(39), J Curtin(Meelin) for A Browne(42), C Murphy(Banteer) for D Buckley(47), L Philpott(Banteer) for P Browne(49), D Murphy(Castlemagner) for C Browne(49).

Referee: J Murphy(Castletownroche).