• Jan 26,2020

Kanturk 3-17, Dromtariffe 2-17

KANTURK excitingly held off Dromtariffe in a thrilling Central Stores, Kanturk  Duhallow U21BHC Final played at Glantane.  Victory was well deserved for challengers Kanturk who denied Dromtariffe from completing a four in a row of titles to the delayed 2019 staging.

The perfect start for Kanturk,  Ryan Walsh netted a lead goal only for Dromtariffe mount a response and rewarded from a Tomás Howard goal. Kanturk  won back possession for a  1-10 to 1-7 advantage at the break, their position enhanced from a goal by Alan Walsh soon after the restart.

Dromtariffe rallied and a spell of pressure  highlighted from a goal by Evan Murphy helped trim the arrears to the minimum. Late on, Kanturk survived the onslaught to regain the title for the first time since 2014.

KANTURK: B Kenneally; A Murphy, L Cashman; C Breen, E Geaney, C O’Sullivan 0-2; D O’Donoughue 0-5(0-2f), C Mullane 0-1; B O’Sullivan 0-2, R Walsh 1-4, E Hayes; G Keneghen 0-1, A Walsh 2-2. Subs.  C O’Donoghue for G Keneghen, E Guiney for R Walsh.

DROMTARIFFE: G O’Keeffe; J O’Connell, R Daly; M Dennehy, C O’Callaghan 0-1, M Sheehan; K O’Sullivan, E Murphy 1-2; J O’Connor, T Howard 1-11(0-7f), D O’Leary; B Murphy 0-3, B Herlihy. Sub. D Desmond for D O’Leary.

Referee: S Stokes(Tullylease).