• Sep 20,2020

Duhallow 0-16  Valley Rovers 0-15

DUHALLOW dragged themselves from the brink to better Valley Rovers in a dramatic conclusion to the Bon Secours Co Premier SFC at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Falling behind by three points entering the latter stages, the divisional men responded with bravery and conviction to land five consecutive points to tilt a destination to the penultimate hurdle. With the sides deadlocked on nine occasions, the outcome was always going to be close between two well matched sides.

Rovers shaded the opening quarter only for Duhallow to land four in a row before Valleys answered again  for parity at 0-8 apiece by the interval.

Much a similar pattern continued on the turnover, the sides trading points for stalemate. Heroic Duhallow defending denied Valleys goal chances yet the Innishannon side appeared to take a grip from points to Tadgh O’Brien, Fiachra Lynch and Billy Crowley.

Duhallow showing true character on reacting with an overwhelming attitude to mount a terrific comeback with late  points to Jerry O’Connor, Paul Walsh, Donncha O’Connor and Daire Moynihan helped sway the outcome.

Scorers for Duhallow: D O’Connor 0-5 (0-2 f), M Ellis 0-3, J O’Connor 0-3, P Walsh, E McSweeney, F O’Connor, S Hickey, D Moynihan 0-1 each.

Valley Rovers: F Lynch 0-5 (0-2 f, 0-1 mark), T O’Brien, B Crowley 0-2 each, J Cottrell (f), E Delaney, E O’Reilly, C O’Leary, A Walsh Murphy, J Walsh 0-1 each.

DUHALLOW: P Doyle (Knockagree); J McLoughlin (Kanturk), B Daly (Newmarket), M Mahoney (Knocknagree); S Hickey (Millstreet), K Cremin (Boherbue), D O’Mahony (Knocknagree); A Ryan (Newmarket), M Ellis (Millstreet); C O’Callaghan (Dromtarrife), E McSweeney (Knocknagree), F O’Connor (Knocknagree); D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), J F Daly (Knocknagree), S Hickey (Rockchapel).

Subs: J O’Connor (Boherbue) for J F Daly (11), P Walsh (Kanturk) for A Ryan (38), D Cashman (Millstreet) for F O’Connor (40), D Moynihan (Ballydesmond) for E McSweeney (56).

VALLEY ROVERS: C Desmond; D Muckian, T O’Brien, A Lyons; J Kiely, I Crowley, A Walsh Murphy; K Canty, C O’Leary; R O’Sullivan, E O’Reilly, J Walsh; E Delaney, F Lynch, B Crowley.

Subs: T O’Brien for R O’Sullivan (21), J Cottrell for E Delaney (45).

Referee: C Dineen (Douglas).