• Sep 26,2020

Dromtariffe 0-30,   Kilbrin  2-13

DROMTARIFFE doubled their tally of E Tarrant & Sons Skoda Dealer Duhallow JAHC titles after overcoming Kilbrin at a sundrenched Kanturk.

Having won their first title in 2018, Dromtariffe emerged worthy winners, boosted by a highly productive opening half  that proved good enough to offset a brave Kilbrin comeback. Kilbrin had opened brightly, Stephen O’Reilly pointing only to find themselves soon on the retreat as Dromtariffe asserted themselves and settled into a highly impressive rhythm,  going about their task impressively

 with Tomás Howard and Brandon Murphy in excellent shooting form to help secure a 0-19 to 0-7 interval advantage.

Kilbrin upped their efforts on the restart and came to terms with the requirements of the occasion, goals from Daniel O’Sullivan and Shane Crowley helped mount a rescue package to reduce the deficit to just five points.

Back came Dromtariffe with an emphatic response, points from the Howard brothers, Evan Murphy and Kevin Cremin  put daylight between the sides and confirmed the destination of the spoils.

Team captain Darren O’Connor collected the John Joe Brosnan Memorial Cup from Duhallow Board Chairman Joe Kearns with Man of the Match Tomas Howard accepting his Award from Connie Tarrant representing the Championship sponsors.

Scorers for Dromtariffe:  T Howard 0-16(0-6f, 0-1’65),  B Murphy 0-4, S Howard 0-3, E Murphy 0-2, K Cremin 0-2, M O’Connor, G O’Sullivan, J Murphy 0-1 each.

Kilbrin: S Crowley 1-8(1-3f, 0-1’65), S O’Reilly 0-3 (0-2f), D O’Sullivan 1-0, N Field, R King 0-1 each.

DROMTARIFFE:  D Cremin; R Daly, M O’Brien, D O’Connor; J Murphy, C O’Callaghan, M O’Gorman;  M O’Connor, K Cremin; S Howard, T Howard, C Cremin; B Murphy, E Murphy; G O’Sullivan. Subs. D  O’Keeffe for M O’Gorman(37), S Cremin for G O’Sullivan(55), D Dennehy fot B Murphy (58).

KILBRIN: E O’Riordan; C Buttimer, M Buckley, M Field; C King, G Linehan, D Daly; David O’Sullivan, W Heffernan; N Field, E Sheahan, S O’Reilly; Daniel O’Sullivan,  N O’Callaghan, S  Crowley.  Subs. R King for S O’Reilly (24 inj), T O’Reilly for David O’Sullivan (38).

Referee: E Walsh(Freemount).