• Dec 18,2021


Gneeveguilla  3-14, Boherbue 0-9

Boherbue held little answers to Gneeveguilla’s superiority to a one sided AIB Munster JAFC semi final played in Mallow.

The hopes of the Duhallow side building on their initial county title triumph failed to materialise, nobody could question their resolve yet they found it difficult to dislodge a well balanced opposition from across the county bounds.

Boherbue attacked early but failed to find the target as Gneeveguilla landed the opening three points. A well struck C J O’Sullivan point  offered Boherbue encouragement though they were thankful to keeper Kevin Murphy to trail 0-6 to 0-1.

Though Gneeveguilla added to their advantage, Boherbue’s play improved,  points from Gerry O’Connor and Liam Moynihan narrowed the arrears 0-9 to 0-4 at the interval. Again Gneeveguilla took up the running on the restart, John O’Leary fired home a great goal.

Down to 14 players, Boherbue remained in with a shout from points to C J O’Sullivan and Liam Moynihan. However Gneeveguilla re-asserted their authority, Shane O’Keeffe and O’Leary adding goals to allow the Kerry side progress to a Munster Final against Ballina of Tipperary.

GNEEVEGUILLA: P O’Riordan; D Brosnan, P Brosnan, P O’Leary; P Warren (0-1), E Fitzgerald, DJ Murphy; R Collins, C Herlihy (0-1); J O’Leary (2-1), P Doyle (0-2), M Murphy (0-1); S O’Keeffe (1-4, 0-1f), S O’Sullivan (0-3), J Cremin (0-1).

Subs: for P O’Connor for M Murphy(45), C Buckley for J Cremin (45), C O’Connor for S O’Keeffe (45); D O’Sullivan for J O’Leary (49), K Coughlan for P O’Leary (49).

BOHERBUE: K Murphy; D O’Keeffe, N Murphy, D Buckley; K Cremin, J Daly (0-1), M O’Gorman; P Daly, G O’Sullivan; Andrew O’Connor (0-1), A Murphy, CJ O’Sullivan (0-2); Alan O’Connor, J O’Connor (0-2, 0-1f), L Moynihan (0-2, 0-1f).

Subs: J Corkery for M O’Gorman (36); D O’Sullivan for Andrew O’Connor (45), B Murphy for P Daly(45), D Sheehan (0-1) for L Moynihan (45); B Buckley for CJ O’Sullivan (49, inj).

Referee: P Smith (Waterford).