• Oct 23,2022

Roused Kanturk cement name on Co. Premier IFC title

Kanturk 3-11 Bantry Blues 1-10 

KANTURK fulfilled their ambition to claim the Bon Secours Co. Premier IFC title from Bantry Blues at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Just the response and outcome Kanturk wanted after unsuccessful outings in the previous two deciders, on this occasion, they brought great energy, pace and passion to their game that proved all too much for a Bantry side that faded during the second half.

 Kanturk enjoyed a dream start, the Walsh brothers central to a goal, man of the match Paul found Ian who fed Ryan to fire home from close range. And when Ian Walsh immediately split the uprights, Kanturk had bagged 1-1 inside the opening minute, clearly Kanturk had clearly set out their stall.

The signs for ominous for Bantry and though Arthur Coakley pointed, they were forced to play second fiddle with three Walsh brothers on target for a clear 1-4 to 0-1 grip in favour of the Duhallow side. However, the Blues intensity increased, rewarded on a Paddy Cronin goal in a well worked move.

Kanturk passed up a number of chances before team captain Aidan Walsh pounced for a brilliant individual goal to secure a 2-6 to 1-7 lead at the break.

Again, Kanturk dominated the restart, Paul and Ian Walsh added points before substitute Cian Clernon offloaded to Lorcan McLoughlin for a goal.

Bantry got little change from a disciplined Kanturk rearguard, that removed any lingering doubt on the outcome, Kanturk’s cheers raised for Aidan Walsh’s lifting of the Billy Long Cup.

KANTURK: R Cashman; J McLoughlin, J Browne, L O’Neill; T Walsh, D Browne, B O’Sullivan; P Walsh 0-2, Aidan Walsh 1-1; C Walsh 0-2, L McLoughlin 1-0, R Walsh 1-0; G Bucinskas 0-1, Alan Walsh, I Walsh 0-5 (0-1f).

Subs: C Clernon for R Walsh (24 inj), J Fitzpatrick for L McLoughlin (57), L O’Keeffe for Bucinskas (60), M Healy for I Walsh (61).

BANTRY BLUES: S Murray; S Thornton 0-1, T Cronin, C O’Brien; E Minihane, B Foley, E O’Shea; S O’Leary 0-1, D McCarthy; S Keevers, K Coakley, D Murray; P Cronin 1-2, R Deane 0-1f, A Coakley 0-5 (0-2f).

Subs: K Casey for D Murray (ht), D Daly for K Coakley (47), C Power for O’Shea (57).

Referee: A O’Connor (Ballygarvan).